With Sapling’s Bulk Onboarding feature, you can onboard multiple new hires at once with the same Location, Department and Employment Status.

Bulk Onboarding can dramatically cut the time spent onboarding and can support up to 100 new hires per bulk action. With this new feature, you can:

  1. Select people in the Pending Hires bay to bulk onboard
  2. Automatically assign workflows, documents*, and emails using Smart Assignment
  3. Auto-complete the Profile Template* with values that apply to everyone
  4. Receive a confirmation when Bulk Onboarding completes
  5. Consolidate Emails sent to new hires and managers to reduce inbox flooding

*Support for Documents and Default Values on Templates arriving in Late August 2020

Before Getting Started

Important thing to note: Make sure you have set up the Location, Department and Employment Status on all workflows, documents, and profile templates (and default values on profile templates*).

How to onboard multiple new hires

Select New Hires to Bulk Onboard

From the Pending Hires bay, select the new hires to be onboarded and click on Onboard Selected New Hires.

Location, Department and Employment filters must match for the selected new hires for this to be possible.

With the Select/unselect names checkbox, you can select multiple new hires at once for faster bulk onboarding.

Note: this operation is performed only on the names currently displayed in the page. For example: if you have a list of 27 total new hires and the table is paginating 10 individuals per page, only the 10 new hires currently displayed will be bulk onboarded.

Review Activities

On the Review Activities step, Sapling makes intelligent suggestions for workflows and emails that apply to your filters.

  • Under Workflows, you have the ability to review the selection and also:
  1. Re-assign task owners
  2. Add and remove workflows
  • Under Documents*, you have the ability to add and remove documents
  • Under Emails, you can draft, review and edit the emails scheduled for Bulk onboarding.

Complete Profile Details

Next, on the Complete Profile Details step you can provision email accounts and complete Admin fields for the new hires.

Select the time and date the account credentials will be sent out to the new hire’s personal email address. Use the toggle to turn off email provisioning if this step is not needed.

Fill out all the Admin fields. Any value entered for each field will be applied to all new hires.

Power editing fields: You can click on the “✎” icon to power edit an admin field and apply unique values for each new hire.

By default, only Admin fields to be filled by the Admin or Super Admin are shown on this page.

Toggle the Show all fields/Only show fields to fill button to display all fields including the pre populated information.

Click the “👁” icon to preview in the right-side panel all fields completed for each new hire.

Provision Google Groups/OUs in Bulk

If you have the G Suite Integration enabled and your IT team has set up Google Groups in your G Suite account, you will have the option to auto-provision Google Group/OUs emails during the bulk onboarding process.

Use the dropdown menu to select what groups you'd like each new hire to be added to. For example: if you're onboarding multiple new hires to your Marketing team in Mexico, you might like to add them to the Google Groups like marketing@yourcompany.com or mexicoteam@yourcompany.com.

To learn more about auto-provisioning Google OUs/Groups, check out our G Suite Integration Guide.

Completing Bulk Onboarding

Click the Initiate Bulk Onboarding button to complete the operation

Confirmation Emails

Once the Bulk Onboarding is completed, the Admin receives a confirmation email with a summary of the actions taken and, when applicable, a notification of any new hires who weren’t processed during the action.

Frequently asked questions

  • How many people can we bulk onboard at once?

You can onboard up to 100 people with the same L/D/E at a single time. If onboarding more (ex: 300), break the group into smaller subsets for faster performance (3 sets of 100 each).

  • Can I start, exit, and return where I left off in Bulk Onboarding like I can with Individual Onboarding?

No, since Bulk Onboarding is condensed into only 2 steps, “save your progress” isn’t available when setting up a Bulk Onboarding; if you exit, your progress is canceled.

Did this answer your question?